Canada’s First Medal of the Commonwealth Games – Women’s Team Sprint (Cycling)

It was a silver for Canada after coming second today to New Zealand in the women’s team sprint final at the Lee Valley VeloPark in London.

The team is Lauriane Genest of Lévis, QC, Kelsey Mitchell of Sherwood Park, AB, and Sarah Orban of Calgary, AB, and they had a time of 48.001, second to New Zealand (47.425).

Ryan Dodyk of Sherwood Park, AB, Tyler Rorke of Baden, ON and Nick Wammes of Bothwell, ON, had a chance for bronze in the men’s team sprint (44.573), but lost to New Zealand – winning time 43.856.