Canadian Commonwealth Sport Awards

The objectives for the Canadian Commonwealth Sport Awards is to:

  • celebrate and honor individuals and organizations who have made a significant contribution to the Commonwealth sport movement in Canada and/or abroad.
  • Increase the Canadian public’s awareness of the Commonwealth sport movement and CSC, and  
  • provide a vehicle for fundraising.

SPORT EXCELLENCE (Athlete & Coach Award):  Recognizes and celebrates outstanding athletic and coaching performances at the last Commonwealth Games!

SPORT DEVELOPMENT EXCELLENCE (SportWORKS Award):  An individual recognized for their exceptional contributions during their international placement with CSC. The award is presented to a SportWORKS Officer who has made a significant contribution to the development of sport. Recipient selection for this award is based on the nominee’s contribution to the development of sport (at any level) in Commonwealth countries around the world.  (Beyond the Podium Award): Recognizes the contributions and achievements that a partnering organization or individual has made in using sport as a tool to drive development.  This award is presented to a current or former CSC partner organization or Individual that has made significant contributions towards development through sport.  Recipient selection for this award is based on the nominee’s contribution to social development in their community or country.

VOLUNTEER EXCELLENCE (Award of Merit (Builder)):  An individual who has made distinguished, lasting and valuable contributions to furthering the aims and objectives of Commonwealth Sport Canada (CGC) and the Commonwealth Games Foundation of Canada (CGFC), both domestically and internationally.  Builder nominees may be either active or inactive at the time of their consideration. Click here for Previous Award Recipients.

PARTNERSHIP EXCELLENCE (Outstanding Partner Award):  Serves to recognize the extraordinary support provided to CSC/CGFC by a valued, external organization.  Without that support, CSC/CGFC could not meet its goals. 


Inducted 1993 - AWARD OF MERIT

M.M. (Bobby)
Hamilton Sports Hall of Fame

Colonel John M.
(Jack) Davies

Margaret Lord

Neil Farrell

Allan Fitzpatrick

Inducted 1996 - AWARD OF MERIT

Ivor Dent, Ph.D Wally Stinson Kenneth P Farmer


Hon. James Richardson

Inducted 2000 - AWARD OF MERIT

Doreen Ryan Vaughan Baird Kenneth Smith Robert Osborne


Bruce Robertson

Inducted 2005 - AWARD OF MERIT

Robert (Bob) Adams

Inducted 2008 - AWARD OF MERIT

Judy Kent

Hall of Fame 2021

In 2016 the Award of Merit and Significant Contribution Awards became part of a larger Awards program, now called the Canadian Commonwealth Sport Awards.


Margie Schuett Award of Merit Ryan Pelley
Jennifer Brown SportWORKS PCL Outstanding Partner








Inducted 2017 - Partnership Excellence

Brock University Outstanding Partner








Inducted 2018 - Sport Excellence

Kylie Masse
Athlete Category
Martin Calder
Coach Category







Inducted 2019 - Volunteer Excellence

Bruce Robertson
Award of Merit

Inducted 2019 - Sport Development Excellence 

Jennifer Wong SportWORKS








Inducted 2021 - Partnership Excellence

Kukri Sports Canada Outstanding Partner







Inducted 2022 - Sport Excellence

Justina Di Statio
Athlete Category
Ryan Mallette
Coach Category