



COMMONWEALTH GAMES ASSOCIATION OF CANADA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING SEPTEMBER 20, 2020

MINUTES

1. Welcome and Roll Call

Chairman, Rick Powers welcomed all delegates to the meeting under these difficult COVID-19 times. We are fortunate to have Zoom technology to bring us together for this meeting. Meeting was called to order at 11:02am ET.

Kelly Laframboise conducted roll call of voting delegates only. It was determined that 31 of 40 voters were present and quorum was achieved.

Board of Directors:

Rick Powers, President Keith Gillam, Treasurer Martha Deacon, Director Karen Hacker, Director Simon Farbrother, Director Graham Smith, Director Riley McCormick, Athlete Rep.

Individual Members (IM) (Voting) Holly Abraham Laura Deyell Bill Dowbiggin Tanya Heimlich-Ng Yuen Robert Johnston Rene Leblanc Mikaela Martin Greg Maychak (arrived after roll call) Chad Murray (arrived after roll call) Janet Nutter Wayne Parro Samantha Rogers Myles Spencer

Member Sports (Voting) Athletics - David Bedford Badminton – Joe Morissette Basketball - Glen Grunwald Cycling – Matthew Jefferies Cricket - Ingleton Liburd Diving - Penny Joyce Field Hockey – Ann Doggett Gymnastics – Ian Moss Judo – Nicolas Gill Lawn Bowls – Anna Mees Rugby - Allen Vansen Squash – Dan Wolfenden Swimming - Graham Smith Table Tennis – Thorsten Gohl Triathlon – Les Pereira Volleyball - Ed Drakich Weightlifting - Craig Walker

Wheelchair – Wendy Gittens

<u>Member Organizations</u> AthletesCAN – Georgina Truman Lorraine Lafreniere - Coaching Assoc. of Canada

Staff / Contractors Brian MacPherson, CEO Kelly Laframboise, Mgr, Programs & Ops & Recorder Ryan Pelley, Manager, SportsWORKS Chris Taylor, Assistant, Programs & Operations Scott Stevenson, Director Team Canada 2022 Jason Robinson, Sport Law, Strategy Group & Scrutineer Pauline Dion-Rowlatt, Simultaneous Translation Jenny Wong, Award Recipient

Guests

Linda Cuthbert, CGF Sports Committee Nicole Forrester, CGF Athlete's Commission Bruce Robertson, CGF Executive Board Karen O'Neill, External Representation Cttee Marg Soden, Awards & Rec. Committee

Regrets/Absent Clair Carver-Dias, Director Ralph Hutton, IM Sabrina Razack Alicia Renoirte Boxing Canada Netball Canada Wrestling Canada Cdn Women in Sport

Nominees Frederick Blaney David Bedford Meaghan Howat Sean Shannon Trevino Betty Andrew Haley Arvind Katyal Cameron Smith David Legg Stephen Symons (Nom) Allan Prazsky (Nom) Rochelle Dziadekwich (Nom)

Don Caswell Eric MacIntosh Jake Schuknecht Marc Durand Monique Allain Thomas Volk





2. Approval of Agenda

The agenda was circulated to all members prior to the AGM. No additions or revisions were required.

3. Approval of September 24, 2019 Minutes

The minutes from the September 24, 2019 members meeting were distributed prior to the meeting. With no corrections required the minutes were approved as distributed.

4. Annual Report

The Annual Report (Appendix "A") was distributed prior to the meeting. There being no questions, the report was accepted as distributed.

5. Approval of 2019-2020 Financial Statements

The Financial Statements were distributed prior to the meeting. There being no questions, the 2019-2020 Audited Financial Statements (Appendix "B") were approved as distributed.

6. Appointment of Auditor

Moved by: Anna Mees; **Seconded by:** Holly Abraham - That Ouseley Hanvey Clipsham Deep, LLp be appointed as auditor for the financial year ending March 31, 2021. **CARRIED.**

7. Canadian Commonwealth Sport Awards

Holly Abraham, Chair of the Awards & Recognition Committee, presented the Canadian Commonwealth Sport Awards to both Bruce Robertson for the Volunteer Excellence (Award of Merit) and Jenny Wong for the Sport Development Excellence (SportWORKS). Congratulations to both!

8. Elections

Jason Robinson was appointed scrutineer for the elections. Jason conducted the electronic voting on Simply Voting and has ensured all registered voters were entered into the voting system.

The following Individuals are elected for a 4-year term, expiring at the 2024 AGM:

Treasurer – Keith Gillam Directors – David Bedford, Trevino Betty, and Karen Hacker Individual Members – Holly Abraham, Monique Allain, Marc Durand, Andrew Haley, Meaghan Howat, Rene Leblanc, David Legg, and Thomas Volk.

Rick thanked the retiring Directors Martha Deacon and Simon Farbrother along with Individual Members Bill Dowbiggin, Ralph Hutton, Sabrina Razack, Alicia Renoirte, Greg Maychak and Wayne Parro for their commitment and work to the Commonwealth Sport Movement.





Rick also took a moment to thank Staff for their dedication and hard work.

9. Termination

There being no further questions, comments or concerns the meeting of the members was terminated at 1:00pm.